第24章 腹腔镜手术治疗肌瘤

第24章 腹腔镜手术治疗肌瘤

1) 腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术

如何进行腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术?

腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术是一项需要技术的手术。手术医生需要拥有进阶的腹腔镜手术技巧。进行这项手术有以下几个步骤:

步骤 1: 减少手术中的出血(减少血液供应)。这可能涉及注射血管收缩素到肌瘤和(或)子宫动脉结扎。

步骤 2: 在子宫上切开并剥除子宫肌瘤。这可能需要在子宫上进行一次或多次切口。

步骤 3: 缝合子宫上的所有伤口,需要进阶的缝合技术,因为子宫必须进行细致的修复。

步骤 4: 从腹部移出子宫肌瘤。

在手术结束时,通常会放置防沾粘产品(图k)(原文标示g是错误的),以减少肠子和大网膜沾粘到子宫切口的机会。有时候可在骨盆底中放置引流管以排出手术后可能残留的血液。手术几天后将会把这个引流管移除。

观看影片24.1

如何完成腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术

图24.1(a-k):这一系列的照片显示如何进行腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术:(a)子宫肌瘤,(b)注射血管收缩素,(c)在子宫肌瘤上作切口,(d)剥除子宫肌瘤,(e) 用含有倒勾的缝线缝合伤口内部缺损,(f) 浆膜(伤口表面层)缝合,(g)将子宫肌瘤切成小块,(h)阴道切开术完成,(i)通过阴道切口将子宫肌瘤移出,(j)阴道切口缝合,(k) 用防沾粘凝胶覆盖子宫的伤口。

在手术中,采取了哪些措施以减少出血?

在腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术中有几种减少出血的策略。

1. 血管收缩素(一种血管收缩的药物)可以注射到子宫肌瘤和子宫之间的交界处,以减少手术过程中的出血。血管收缩素通常可以维持约1小时,因此必须在恢复出血情况前快速切除肌瘤和缝合切口。

图24.2 未注射血管收缩素时的子宫肌瘤。
图24.3 注射血管收缩素后的子宫肌瘤会变成白色(缺血状)。

2. 子宫肌瘤的血液供应主要是来自於子宫动脉。因此子宫动脉结扎可以用夹子暂时性地进行,也可以用夹子或缝线永久性地结扎。这可以在两个部位来进行,即子宫动脉的上行分支或是在髂内动脉的第一分支子宫动脉源头。通常是结扎子宫动脉的上行分支,而髂内动脉分支子宫动脉源头可用夹住或结扎的方式。因为子宫肌瘤的血液供应都是直接来自子宫动脉,永久性结扎子宫动脉会让手术过程中无法切除的小肌瘤痿缩。结扎子宫动脉还可以减少子宫肌瘤复发的机率。然而有人会担心子宫动脉永久性结扎是否会减少子宫的血液供应,从而减少了未来怀孕的机会。所以,暂时用夹子结扎也是减少手术出血的另一种选择,并且在子宫肌瘤切除术后马上可以移除夹子。

图24.4 用夹子夹着左侧子宫动脉源头,(a)子宫动脉,(b)输尿管,(c)脐动脉。
图24.5 将右侧子宫动脉绑在源头,(a)骼内动脉,(b)输尿管,(c)子宫动脉,(d)脐动脉。

个案24.1 妊娠期腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术

DSCA是一位28岁的女士,她在2018年3月份时向我咨询。她在2012年12月怀孕15週时流产了。经过检查发现了子宫肥大犹如16週妊娠大小(的子宫),超声波检查显示子宫肌瘤大小为9.5×11.65厘米。肌瘤中有液化的部分这显示肌瘤大到一个程度缺血而有退化作用。她接受了腹腔镜子宫切除手术。手术后,她恢复良好,但医生建议她在1年内不要怀孕。她于2014年6月时在尝试几个月后自然怀孕了。在2015年2月份,她经剖腹产顺利产下一名健康的男婴。

如何从腹部取出子宫肌瘤?

从腹部和骨盆腔把子宫肌瘤移出体外是一件繁琐且耗时的事情。通常是使用电动切割器或通过子宫颈后的阴道穹窿切口移出子宫肌瘤(阴道穹窿切开术)。这将在第18章中有详细描述。

子宫肌瘤切除手术的优点是什么?

第15章描述的腹腔镜手术的所有优点都适用于腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术。然而,许多患有肌瘤的患者有不孕能的问题。腹腔镜手术可减少术后骨盆腔沾黏的发生率,因此腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术后的自然怀孕率比接受剖腹式子宫肌瘤切除术者高。与剖腹式子宫肌瘤切除手术相比,腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术有哪些缺点?

1.手术技术要求高
与剖腹子宫肌瘤切除手术相比,腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术是一项困难的手术。它需要进阶的腹腔镜技术及学习门槛很高。

2.需要更长的时间来执行
腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术时间可能比剖腹式子宫肌瘤切除术长2至3倍,因为所有不同但都是必需的的步骤

3.可能会错过小肌瘤
当进行剖腹式子宫肌瘤切除手术时,我们可以用手碰触子宫,并且可以通过触觉刺激(触摸感觉)感觉到小的子宫肌瘤的存在并去除之。而在腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术中,只能去除看得见的子宫肌瘤。有时在腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术中进行超声波检查以确定位于子宫肌肉层深处肌瘤的位置,以便可以在子宫的适当部位切开以去除除这些肌瘤。

4.当使用电动切割器(g)去除肌瘤时,肌瘤碎片有可能会意外地遗留在腹部和骨盆中。这些碎片可能附着在腹部和/或骨盆并可能再生长。这种肌瘤称为寄生肌瘤。为了避免这种情况发生,建议肌瘤装在袋内切成条状移出(见第18章和图18.8和18.9)

腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术和开放性子宫肌瘤切除术的风险是什么?

通过腹腔镜或剖腹手术进行子宫肌瘤切除术时,可能会出现大量失血,可能需要输血。如果出血过多,也可能需要进行子宫切除术。

哪些患者不适合进行腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术?

有一些患者可能很难进行腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术。

1) 子宫肌瘤过大

当子宫肌瘤过大时,手术可能很困难。这是因为腹部没有太多的操纵空间来切除子宫肌瘤。在腹腔镜下进行子宫肌瘤切除手术之前,使用GnRHa(性腺激素释促进素)注射几个月后,这些过大的子宫肌瘤会“痿缩”。然而,给予GnRHa的缺点是肌瘤可能变得柔软并且粘附在子宫而难以剥离(切除)。注射GnRHa可以使小肌瘤缩小甚至“消失”,但这些小肌瘤可能在手术后会再次复发。

图24.6 - 这是一位子宫肌瘤过大的患者。这是患者接受GnRHa药物注射以缩小子宫肌瘤后的状况。
图24.7 - 如图24.6所示,腹腔镜下患者的大子宫肌瘤。我们进行了腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术。有关切割后的肌瘤组织,请参见图18.10。

观看影片24.2

腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术治疗大子宫肌瘤

 

个案24.2 :腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术治疗大子宫肌瘤

另一位同事将KR转介给了我。据悉,她的腹部肿瘤大小有犹如怀孕30週(g)。她不但单身而且是处女。她的月经规则,经血量正常也没有甚其他症状。理学检查和超声波检查显示子宫底浆膜型的大肌瘤18.2 x 12.5厘米,另一个肌瘤在子宫后壁8.3 x 10.4 厘米。她倾向于腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术。由肌瘤的太大,我建议她接受GnRHa(性腺激素促进素)注射6个月,以便在手术前让肌瘤能缩小。她接受了一剂药效长达3个月的长效型药物注射,3个月后再见到她时肌瘤缩小了。两颗肌瘤分别缩小成15.5 × 10.2和7.7 × 9.2厘米。我建议她再接受第二剂的药物注射液,但由于副作用的关系她拒绝了。她接受了腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术。这是一个稍微困难的手术但最后很成功。手术去切除的肌瘤总重量为1.5Kg(图18.11),术后她恢复情况良好。

讨论

腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术其实可以在没有子宫托的辅助下对处女膜完整的女性进行。进行腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术后要如何移除大肌瘤是一项挑战。给予GnRH激动剂以缩小子宫肌瘤有两个好处,即(1)子宫和肌瘤会边小,因此将有更多空间进行手术,(2)药物注射会减少肌瘤的血管,因此在手术期间出血量会减少。但缺点是由于肌瘤的痿缩,肌瘤剥离时将稍微较困难。

2) 多发性子宫肌瘤

患有多颗子宫肌瘤的患者若用腹腔镜进行子宫肌瘤切除手术可能很难切除所有的肌瘤。如前所述,在腹腔镜手术时,手术医生没有办法用他的手去感受子宫体内所有的子宫肌瘤的位子,因此可能会错失一些小肌瘤。

图24.8 在剖腹手术中看到多颗大的子宫肌瘤

3) 重复进行多次手术

有过多次手术经历的患者,尤其是剖腹手术,可能会导致肠子与腹部或与盆腔器官的粘黏。这可能是腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术的相对禁忌症。但是经验丰富的妇科医生仍然有能力帮这样的患者进行腹腔镜手术。

个案24.3 子宫粘膜层下大肌瘤进行腹腔镜肌瘤切除手术

MM是一位32岁的女士,育有3位孩子,她在2009年时到找我以便进行妇科和子宫颈抹片检查。子宫颈抹片检查及超声波检查都未发现任何异常。2015年,她再次来找我,当时她已经38岁并在这一年来都有月经过多的病史。此外她还有月经之间阴道出血的问题但没有痛经的情况。理学检查和超声波检查显示了犹如怀孕14周大小(克)的子宫,子宫粘膜层下有一大肌瘤,大小为4.82 x 5.09厘米。我们讨论了手术的选择,包括子宫镜和腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术。她希望能进行输卵管结扎,因此她选择了腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术和输卵管结扎手术。她接受了该手术(观看视频24.3),术后的情况良好。

讨论

经子宫镜肌瘤切除术也是这位患者的手术选项之一。由于肌瘤较大并且是第1型(见图41.2)肌瘤,若要以此方式手术的话她须要服用GnRHa几个月以缩小肌瘤后再进行手术。由于她希望接受腹腔镜输卵管结扎手术,因此她选择了腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术。这种情形接受腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术的唯一缺点是会在子宫内留下疤痕,这会延伸到子宫腔内,如果再次怀孕,她必须接受剖腹产的方式生产。

观看影片24.3

子宫粘膜层下大肌瘤进行腹腔镜肌瘤切除手术

 

2) 单一切口腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术

腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术可以通过单一切口来进行。单一切口腹腔镜手术已在第18章中描述过。单切口腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除手术通常可在少数小肌瘤患者中进行,技术上比传统的3或4个孔的腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术要更高的技术。

观看影片19.7

单一切口腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术

 

3) 全腹腔镜子宫切除术

在已完成家庭且年龄超过40岁的患者中,子宫全切除术是一种选项。如果子宫不太大,可以通过腹腔镜进行手术。这种手术可以透过传统的4孔洞或单一切口腹腔镜来进行手术。有关如何进行腹腔镜子宫全切除术的详细信息,请阅读第33章,或单一切口腹腔镜子宫全切除术请见第19章。

总结

可以有好几种腹腔镜手术来进行子宫肌瘤切除术。这包括腹腔镜或单一切口腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术,腹腔镜或单一切口腹腔镜子宫全切除术。腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术比剖腹式子宫肌瘤切除术有许多优点,但它是需要进阶技术的手术。

实情 24.1

腹腔镜子宫肌瘤切除术可以在从未曾有过性交(处女完整)的女性中进行吗?

很多人会认为在处女病患会较难进行子宫肌瘤切除术,因为通常腹腔镜手术是需要子宫托的帮助下进行的,但其实这是一种误解。子宫托是一种通过阴道放入子宫腔的器械,如此在手术过程中可移动子宫的方向来协助手术的进行。但是它在腹腔镜手术中并非绝对必要。其实我们可以通过套管利用腹腔镜器械在腹腔内操作子宫的方向,不需要透过阴道,因此不会对处女膜造成任何伤害。

Copyrights © 2021 Selva’s Fertility, Obsterics & Gynaecology Clinic. All Rights Reserved.

Chapter 24 – Laparoscopic Surgery for Fibroids

Chapter 24 – Laparoscopic Surgery for Fibroids

There are several types of laparoscopic surgeries available for the treatment of fibroids namely

1. Laparoscopic myomectomy
2. Single Incision laparoscopic myomectomy 3. Total laparoscopic hysterectomy

1) Laparoscopic myomectomy

How is laparoscopic myomectomy performed?

Laparoscopic removal of fibroids is a technically demanding surgery. It will require advance laparoscopic surgical skills. There are several steps in performing this surgery.

Step 1: To reduce bleeding during the surgery (devascularization). This may involve injection of vasopressin and /or ligation of the uterine arteries.

Step 2: To make an incision on the uterus and removal (enucleation) of the fibroids. This may require one or more incisions on the uterus.

Step 3: To suture all the incisions made on the uterus. Advance suturing skills is required because meticulous repair is necessary.

Step 4: To remove the fibroids from the abdomen.

At the end of the surgery anti adhesion barriers are usually placed to reduce the chances of intestines and omentum to be adherent (g) to the incision sites. A drainage tube may be placed in the pelvis to drain out any blood that may collect after the surgery. This tube is removed after a few days.

Watch Video 24.1
How is laparoscopic myomectomy done

Figures 24.1 (a – k) – series of photos showing how laparoscopic myomectomy is performed (a) fibroid uterus (b) vasopressin injected (c) incision made on the fibroid (d) fibroid enucleated (e) Inner defect sutured with barbed sutures (f) serosa sutured (g) fibroid cut into small pieces (h) colpotomy done (i) fibroid removed through the colpotomy (J) colpotomy defect sutures (k) defect covered with antiadhesion gel

What steps are taken to reduce bleeding during surgery?

There are several strategies to reduce bleeding during laparoscopic myomectomy.

1. Vasopressin (a drug that shrinks (vasoconstricts) blood vessels) can be injected into the junction between the fibroid and the uterus so as to reduce bleeding during the surgery. Vasopressin usually works for about 1 hour and so enucleation of the fibroid and suturing of the defect must be done quickly before bleeding resumes.

Figure 24.2 Fibroid before injection of vasopressin
Figure 24.3 Fibroid has turned white after injection of vasopressin

2. The blood supply to the fibroids is believed to come directly from the uterine arteries. So ligation of the uterine arteries can be done temporarily with clips or permanently with clips or sutures. This can be done at 2 sites namely the ascending branch of the uterine artery or at the origin of the uterine arteries from the internal iliac artery. The ascending branch of the uterine arteries is usually sutured. The uterine arteries can be clipped or ligated at its origin from the internal iliac arteries. Since the blood supply of all fibroids is believed to come directly from the uterine arteries, ligation of the uterine arteries permanently, will cause shrinkage of any small fibroids that were not removed during the surgery. Ligation of the uterine arteries may even reduce the incidence of recurrence of fibroids. However there is a fear that permanent ligation of the uterine arteries may reduce the blood supply (vascularization) of the uterus and thus reduce the chances of future pregnancy. So, temporary ligation with clips is another option to prevent bleeding and the clips can be removed on completion of the myomectomy.

Figure 24.4 Clipping the left uterine artery at its origin (a) uterine artery, (b) ureter, (c) obliterated umbilical artery
Figure 24.5 Tying the right uterine artery at its origin (a) internal iliac artery, (b) ureter, (c) uterine artery, (d) obliterated umbilical artery

Case 24.1 Spontaneous pregnancy after Laparoscopic Myomectomy

DSCA is a 28 year old lady who consulted me in March 2013. She had a miscarriage in December 2012 at 15 weeks of pregnancy. Examination revealed a 16 gestational week size (g) uterus. Ultrasound done showed a large uterine fibroid measuring 9.5 x 11.65 cm. There was a cystic lesion within the fibroid indicating degeneration of the fibroid. She underwent a laparoscopic myomectomy. Postoperatively, she was well. She was advised not to conceive for 1 year. She conceived spontaneously in June 2014 after trying for a few months. She delivered a healthy baby boy by Caesarean section in February 2015.

How are the fibroids removed from the abdomen?

Removal of fibroids from the abdomen and pelvis can be tedious and time consuming. Fibroids are usually removed using an electric morcellator or through an incision on the upper part of the vagina behind the cervix (culdotomy). This is described in detail in chapter 18.

What are the advantages of laparoscopic myomectomy?

All the advantages of laparoscopic surgery described in chapter 15 applies to laparoscopic myomectomy. However many of the patients with fibroids are also sub fertile. Laparoscopic surgery, will reduce the incidence of postoperative pelvic adhesions, thus the chances of spontaneous pregnancy is perhaps higher in laparoscopic myomectomy compared to conventional myomectomy performed by laparotomy.

1. Technically demanding
Laparoscopic myomectomy is a difficult operation compared to myomectomy by laparotomy. It requires advance laparoscopic skills and the learning curve is very steep.

2. Takes longer time to perform
Laparoscopic myomectomy can take from 2 to 3 times longer than open myomectomy because of all the different steps that are necessary.

3. May miss small fibroids
When myomectomy is performed by laparotomy, the uterus can be felt with the hands and small fibroids can be felt by tactile stimulation (felt by touch). So small fibroids can be detected and removed. However during laparoscopic myomectomy, only fibroids that are seen can be removed. Sometimes an ultrasound is performed during the operation to determine the location of fibroids that are located deep in the myometrium so that an incision can be made at the appropriate part of the uterus to remove these fibroids.

4. When using an electric morcellator (g) to remove the fibroids, fragments of fibroids may be accidentally left behind in the abdomen and pelvis. These fragments may attach to abdominal and/or pelvic structures and may grow. Such fibroids are called parasitic fibroids. To avoid this occurrence, fibroids are morcellated within a bag (see chapter 18 and Figures 18.8 and 18.9).

What are the risks of laparoscopic myomectomy and open myomectomy?

When performing myomectomy by laparoscopy or laparotomy, considerable blood loss may occur which may require blood transfusion. There is also a small risk that if bleeding is excessive, a hysterectomy may be necessary.

Which patients are not suitable for laparoscopic myomectomy?

Laparoscopic myomectomy can be difficult in some patients.

1) Large fibroids

When the fibroid is large, surgery can be difficult. This is because there will not be much space in the abdomen to manipulate
the fibroid. Sometimes these large fibroids can be “shrunk” with the use of GnRH agonist injections for several months before performing the myomectomy laparoscopically. However, the disadvantage of giving GnRH agonist is that fibroids can become soft and adherent to the uterus and removal (enucleation) may be difficult. The injection can also cause small fibroids to shrink and “disappear” and these fibroids may reappear after that surgery.

Figure 24.6 A patient with a large uterine fibroid. This was after the patient had received GnRH analogue to shrink the fibroid
Figure 24.7 Laparoscopic view of the large uterine fibroid of the patient shown in Figure 24.6. Laparoscopic myomectomy was performed. See Figure 18.10 for the morcellated fibroid tissues.
Watch Video 24.2
Laparoscopic myomectomy for a large uterine fibroid

 

Case 24.2 Laparoscopic Myomectomy for large uterine fibroids

Another colleague referred KR to me. She was noted to have an abdominal mass of 30 gestational weeks size (g). She was single
and virgo intacta. She was asymptomatic. Her menses were regular with normal flow. Examination and ultrasound done showed a large subserous fundal fibroid measuring 18.2 x 12.5cm and another posterior fibroid measuring 8.3 x 10.4 cm. She was keen on a laparoscopic myomectomy. Due to the large size of the fibroid I advised her to receive GnRH (Gonadotrophin releasing hormone) agonist injection for 6 months to shrink the fibroid before embarking on the surgery.

She received a depot injection which lasted for 3 months and was seen again 3 months later. The fibroids had reduced in size. They were 15.5 x 10.2 and 7.7 x 9.2 cm respectively. She was advised to take a second dose of the depot injection but due to side effects she refused. She underwent laparoscopic myomectomy. It was a slightly difficult surgery but was successful. The total weight of all the fibroids removed was 1.5kg (Figure 18.11). Postoperatively, she has been well.

Discussion

Laparoscopic myomectomy can be performed on women who
are virgo intacta, without the assistance of a uterine manipulator. Performing laparoscopic myomectomy to remove large uterine fibroids is challenging. Giving GnRH agonist to shrink the fibroid have 2 benefits namely (1) the uterus and fibroids will be smaller and so there will be more space to perform the surgery (2) the injection will make the fibroid less vascular and so there will be less bleeding during the surgery. The disadvantage is that due to the shrinkage of the fibroid, enucleation (g) of the fibroid will be slightly more difficult.

2) Multiple fibroids:

In patients with many uterine fibroids, it may be difficult to remove all the fibroids laparoscopically. As described earlier, during laparoscopy, the surgeon does not have the advantage of using his hands to feel the uterus for all the fibroids and as such, may miss some of the fibroids

Figure 24.8 multiple large uterine fibroids seen at a laparotomy

3) Multiple previous surgeries:

Patients who have had multiple previous surgeries especially laparotomies may have adhesions of the bowel to the abdomen and the pelvic organs. This may be a relative contraindication for laparoscopic myomectomy. An experienced surgeon however will still be able to and can still perform laparoscopic surgery in such patients.

Case 24.3 Laparoscopic myomectomy for a large submucous fibroid

Madam MM a 32 year old lady, with 3 children, came to see me in 2009 for a gynecological examination and Pap smear. Examination and ultrasound did not reveal any abnormalities. She saw me again in 2015 at 38 years of age with a 1 year history of heavy menses. She was also suffering from bleeding in between her menses. She did not complain of dysmenorrhea. Examination and ultrasound showed a 14 gestational week size (g) uterus. There was a large submucous fibroid measuring 4.82 x 5.09 cm. The different options for surgery namely transcervical resection of the fibroid or laparoscopic myomectomy were discussed. She was keen on a tubal ligation and so she preferred a laparoscopic myomectomy and a tubal ligation. She underwent the surgery (watch video 24.3). Post operatively, she has been well.

Discussion

Transcervical resection of the fibroid would have been the optimal surgery for this patient. As the fibroid was large and type 1 (see Figure 41.2), she would have been asked to take gonadotrophin releasing hormone agonist for several months to shrink the fibroid before undergoing surgery. As she had already decided to undergo a laparoscopic tubal ligation, she opted for a laparoscopic myomectomy. The only disadvantage of undergoing a laparoscopic myomectomy is that since she would have a scar in the uterus, which would extend into the uterine cavity, if she conceives again, she would have to undergo an elective Caesarean section.

Watch Video 24.3
Laparoscopic myomectomy for a large submucous fibroid

 

2) Single incision Laparoscopic Myomectomy

Laparoscopic myomectomy can be performed through a single incision. Single incision laparoscopic surgery has been described in chapter 18. Single incision laparoscopic myomectomy is usually performed in patients with few small fibroids. It is technically more demanding than traditional 3 or 4 port laparoscopic myomectomy.

Watch Video 19.7
Single incision laparoscopic myomectomy

 

3) Total Laparoscopic Hysterectomy

In patients who have completed their family (g) and are over 40 years old, hysterectomy is an option. If the uterus is not too large, this procedure can be performed laparoscopically. This surgery can be performed either by traditional 4 port laparoscopic surgery or by single incision laparoscopic surgery. For details on how laparoscopic hysterectomy is performed please read chapter 33 and for single incision laparoscopic hysterectomy see chapter 19.

Summary

Several types of laparoscopic surgeries can be performed for uterine fibroids. This includes laparoscopic myomectomy (removal of fibroids), single incision laparoscopic myomectomy, total laparoscopic hysterectomy and single incision laparoscopic hysterectomy. Laparoscopic myomectomy has many advantages over myomectomy by laparotomy. However, it is a technically demanding surgery.

Fact 24.1

Can laparoscopic myomectomy be performed in women who have never had sexual intercourse before (virgo intacta) ?

There is a misconception that it is difficult to perform laparoscopic myomectomy in a virgo intacta woman. Laparoscopic surgery is usually performed with the assistance of a uterine manipulator. A uterine manipulator is an instrument placed into the uterine cavity via the vagina so that the uterus can be moved vaginally during surgery. However this is not absolutely necessary during a laparoscopic surgery. The uterus can be manipulated with instruments placed through the trocars abdominally, with no manipulation of the vagina and so no injury to the hymen.

Table of Contents

Copyrights © 2020 Selva's Fertility, Obsterics & Gynaecology Clinic. All Rights Reserved.